The Girls Reactions

We have talked very openly with the girls about the adoption process and our thoughts and feelings. For years they have begged for us to adopt… obviously not a reason to adopt but it is nice to know they are on board. When we finished filling out the forms for the adoption agency we all gathered around the kitchen table and Mark explained to the girls that we were going to go ahead, and apply. We then all prayed over the forms before we sent them off! That was May 1, 2011 and so that is the day I will say we started the journey… just so I can keep track of how long it takes!

Madi seems to think about the whole adoption process a lot. A couple weeks ago she asked me “How do the other kids feel when a kid is adopted?” I wasn’t clear on what she was asking… so we chatted for a bit. Turns out she was thinking that after playing together and being with each other every single day in the orphanage, it must be confusing and sad for the kids to see a child leave the orphanage. I could honestly answer her “I have no idea how they must feel.”

When each of my girls were born, I had made them a quilt or a blanket. Out of the blue the other day Madi said she thinks we should make a special quilt for our new child-to-be. Absolutely! I asked her if she would like to help me with it and she was excited about that. What a thoughtful idea!

Eden is excited not to be the youngest and to have a new sister or brother. It will be most interesting to see how she adapts. The girls aren’t allowed to share the news openly yet – we’ve told a few people so we told the girls if they need to talk about it, they can talk with those people. However Eden came home and told me she told a friend at school – but she had made her friend promise to forget it as soon as she told her. ha ha.

I can’t wait for the news to be public as the girls are so excited and would love to share!

Categories: adoption, thoughts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.