And so it begins… again.

Over the years Mark and I have talked about adopting over and over. We will be ready to go, filling out forms… and then something comes up to halt us. Then as much as we think we have made a firm decision to not adopt, within months, we are back at it.

For me, the adoption decision started as a teen.

I can still remember the day in high school we were watching a movie about the “one child policy” in China and how they were killing girls as everyone wanted boys for their one child. When I say that I “remember the day” – I have to clarify that I don’t remember the class I was in, I don’t remember the exact year, or even what the movie was called. What I do remember vividly is the start of a dream and the emotions I felt. I was saddened and horrified. Even then as a teen – I knew I could give a child a home in order that they may have the gift of life. I knew that this was something I had to do. I didn’t know how or when – but I knew that if there was one thing I could offer this world – it was loving a child.

The dream never left. I didn’t feel called to China specifically – but what I did feel called to was adoption.

When I went to college, I met and married the best possible man for me. Mark is amazing and balances me in so many ways. But what is incredible was here was a man who also shared my love for adoption. We both came from families with siblings gained through the beauty of adoption. We knew that having been adopted or being born biologically into a family didn’t matter. We both knew first hand that adoption is just one other way to grow a family – and those members are every single bit as much a part of our family.

It’s been over 20 years since high school, and 14 years since I married Mark. And finally…. it’s time. Yep, folks. Many of my high school dreams have long ago faded (thank goodness!) but this one has only grown stronger over the years.

Categories: adoption, thoughts, update | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “And so it begins… again.

  1. Can’t wait to see your amazing family grow! Congrats on making this huge step!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.